2009/12/2 Mark Roberts <span dir="ltr"><<a href="mailto:zen13321@zen.co.uk" target="_blank">zen13321@zen.co.uk</a>></span><br><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex">
Drew Fitzsimmons wrote:<br>
>> I've already taken action to forward the CLUG URL's to Joe<br>
>> Czucha's wiki.<br>
><br>
> There is already some vandalism (spam) on the wiki, at:<br>
><br>
> <a href="http://clug.joeczucha.co.uk/index.php/Index.php" target="_blank">http://clug.joeczucha.co.uk/index.php/Index.php</a><br>
<br>
May I ask, what is going on if anything with the site? I see the wiki is<br>
now just a massive pile of spam and vandalism - does that prove the wiki<br>
model doesn't work for us after all (lack of critical mass in the<br> oversight department)</blockquote><div><br></div><div>I don't think it proves it. It has proved that for the wiki model to work, the wiki needs to be set up with the sort of anti-spam measures I've suggested previously on this list.</div>
<div> </div><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex">or are we continuing with it?</blockquote><div><br></div><div>I, for one, would be happy to continue with a wiki, but probably not that wiki, since:</div>
<div><ul><li>as you pointed out, it's full of spam;</li><li>it seems to have no anti-spam features enabled;</li><li>Joe hasn't been seen on this list for a while and in any case hasn't provided us with a spam-free wiki.</li>
</ul></div><div>If anyone else agrees with me and would be happy for me to maintain the wiki, then could Mark or Drew please set CLUG's domain to redirect to <a href="http://clug.sampablokuper.com">http://clug.sampablokuper.com</a> ? I'd be happy to maintain it indefinitely.</div>
<div><br></div><div>Ta,</div><div><br></div><div>Sam</div><br>